Can repetitive trauma/compression cause EM?

I’m new to EM and this site. Here’s my story. On December 31, 2009 my feet suddenly started burning and walking became painful. In February 2010 I learned I had peripheral neuropathy (PN) and was diabetic. Through regular exercise I got back to my high school weight.
In Nov. 2013 I purchased an elliptical machine. Unfortunately, I used the machine incorrectly. Instead of keeping my feet flat on the pedals, I aggressively pushed off, repeatedly toe jamming doing 5 to 7 miles a day. The fact that my big toes veer off to the sides from severe bunions exacerbated the problem by putting undue pressure on the sides of my big toes and balls of my feet, where a major nerve runs.
By Feb. 2014, the outer halves of my big toes were numb. (Until the elliptical, my PN symptoms were minimal due to 3000 mg gabapentin.) When I asked my neurologist about my newfound numbness and its odd pattern, she was unconcerned and noncommittal. She thought it could even be my diabetic PN progressing --though my blood sugar was excellent and I was her “best diabetes patient.” Thinking the numbness meant the nerves were dead and I could do no further damage, I maintained my workouts.
In Sept. 2014, my big toes and balls of my feet suddenly became hypersensitive to pressure and the simple act of walking. Burning, electric shocks and stabbing sensations plagued me when I walked, especially in the big toes and balls of my feet. Belatedly, I Googled “numb toes and elliptical,” and learned temporarily numb toes are not uncommon in healthy folks who use ellipticals. I stopped exercising. I had to walk on my heels and the sides of my feet. I started soaking my feet in cold water to stop the burning. I stopped driving and became basically housebound.