IS EM a precursor for other diseases

I am new to all of this. I have only had my diagnoses for a little over a year now. I am currently seeing a dermatologist for EM. Matter of fact I go to see him on the 20th. Very few DR.s in my area know anything about EM or that it even exists. Besides finding a way to cope with EM until they find a cure/treatment my 1st question is. Can or does EM lead to other diseases or health problems.

hey there

I don’t think so? However, sometimes extreme cooling / elevation might cause its own host of problems like infections/ulcers that then need to be treated (or may worsen the EM in the long run, eg reactive flaring).

I think it’s more an issue of trying to find anything that could be causing your EM issues. If your EM is secondary to something that can be identified, then by treating the underlying cause, hopefully the EM will improve too.

good luck at your appt on the 20th, i hope your derm is helpful.

edit - Mayo writes that sometimes, the dysfunctional blood flow in EM might lead to small fiber neuropathy (in other cases SFN is a precursor for EM).

Thank you. This all just overwhelming to me. I am just trying to get as much info as possible to present to my derm at the appt. so that maybe he may do some more digging on his own and together maybe we can find something that helps. I can’t stand this not knowing what to do. Let alone the discomfort of EM and the effect it has on my day to day life.