Pushing yourself

Have you guys ever pushed yourself well beyond your normal capabilities to join a family activity? Such as going to a theme park and doing your best to ignore the pain. I gotta say it’s well worth it for the fun, the day after however not so fun! Share your stories of when you’ve done the same I’d love to hear them!

I have lately just to get some stuff done around the house. It caused flares but not as bad as if they happen on thier own. I have also been walking my kids in the double stroller once per day even in the heat. Sometimes no flare untill I get home . I’m kindoff new to the EM stuff and I may have had small symptoms for a few years and just ignored them. My symptoms are worse knowing what they are . Ignoring them is a much better way to pass the time. I also am working . I work in a hospital as a radiology mri technologist. My work place is cold which maybe helps. I’m going to paint my kitchen this week. I just finished the backsplash . Sometimes wearing gloves is helpful too. It’s hard to do stuff when you don’t feel well so I have been trying to adjust. It hasn’t been easy but it feels good to get things done and just do normal people stuff. It’s been tough explaining this to family too. We may go to a mlb baseball game Friday .

I just want to say I struggle with knowing when / how much to “push” myself too. I do too much, and then I suffer the consequences and get too scared to try anything for a while … In the meantime though I know being near fam / friends + having a good support network is important for chronic illness. My PCP at one point said she’s seen it time and time again, that the people who struggle with chronic back pain say, and choose to go to family events anyway seem to fare generally better than the ones with chronic back pain and who stay more reclusive… At the time I wanted to scream at her saying this is another beast than “chronic back pain” lol but she has a point in there somewhere :stuck_out_tongue: